Australian Wine from
Alternative Grape Varieties
Wine Map Italy

Alternative varieties around Adelaide

Alternative Adelaide the guide to wineries using unusual or new varieties around Adelaide.

I am writing a guide to the wineries making wine using alternative varieties in the regions surrounding Adelaide. I have used a database to compile a list of wineries and the varieties I think thye are using

The guide will initially be published as an eBook, a downloadable file. I will see if there is any demand for such a guide and perhaps publish it as a physical

*What is an Alternative Variety?

This is easier defined by what is not 'alternative'

For the purposes of this Guide I am defining all varieties other than Cabernet sauvignon, Cabernet Franc, Grenache, Merlot, Mourvedre, Petit verdot, Pinot Noir, Pinot gris, Riesling, Sauvignon blanc, Semillon, Shiraz, Verdelho, Viognier

The list

Please check that the entry for your winery is correct. Email me darby@vinodiversity.com with any corrections or additions

Adelaide Hills


Abbey Rock Wines -: Sangiovese - http://www.abbeyrock.com.au/
Amadio -: Dolcetto, Sangiovese, Tempranillo - http://www.amadiowines.com.au
Arrivo -: Nebbiolo - http://www.arrivo.com.au
Blackford Stable Wines -: Sangiovese - http://www.blackfordstable.com.au
Bowe Lees -: Nebbiolo, Tannat
Chain of Ponds -: Barbera, Nebbiolo, Sangiovese - http://www.chainofponds.com.au/
Deviation Road -: Sangiovese - http://www.deviationroad.com
Hahndorf Hill -: Lemberger, Trollinger - http://www.hahndorfhillwinery.com.au
Honey Moon Vineyard -: Marsanne, Tempranillo - http://www.honeymoonvineyard.com.au
Kenton Hill -: Nebbiolo
La Linea -: Tempranillo - http://www.lalinea.com
Llangibby Estate -: Tempranillo - http://www.llangibbyestate.com/
Longview Vineyard -: Nebbiolo, Zinfandel - http://www.longviewvineyard.com.au
Nepenthe -: Tempranillo, Zinfandel - http://www.nepenthe.com.au/
Nova Vita Wines -: Sangiovese - http://www.novavitawines.com.au
Parish Hill Wines -: Arneis, Dolcetto, Fiano, Nebbiolo, Negro amaro, Vermentino - http://www.parishhillwines.com.au/
Perrini Estate -: Sangiovese - http://www.perriniwines.com.au/
Protero -: Nebbiolo - http://www.proterowines.com.au
Scaffidi Estate -: Nebbiolo, Sangiovese - http://www.talunga.com.au/
Starvedog Lane -: Meunier, Nebbiolo, Sangiovese, Tempranillo, Touriga - http://www.starvedoglane.com.au/
Talunga -: Nebbiolo, Sangiovese, Tempranillo - http://www.talunga.com.au/
Ten Miles East -: Arneis, Carmenere, Saperavi - http://tenmileseast.com
The Deanery Vineyards -: Sangiovese
Tilbrook Estate -: Sangiovese - http://www.marketsatheart.com/tilbrookestate/
Totino Wines -: Sangiovese - http://www.totinowines.com.au
Yacca Paddock Vineyards -: Arneis, Dolcetto, Durif, Tannat, Tempranillo - http://www.yaccapaddock.com

Adelaide Plains


Ceravolo Premium Wines -: Sangiovese - http://www.ceravolo.com.au
Dominic Versace Wines -: Sangiovese - http://www.dominicversace.com.au
Primo Estate -: Barbera, Colombard, Nebbiolo, Sangiovese - http://www.primoestate.com.au/
Tenafeate Creek Wines -: Nebbiolo, Sangiovese - http://www.tenafeatecreekwines.com.au
Versace Wines -: Sangiovese - http://versacewines.com.au
Virgara Wines -: Alicante Bouchet, Sangiovese - http://www.virgarawines.com.au
Wilkie Estate - http://www.wilkieestatewines.com.au

Adelaide Zone

.. Uleybury Wines -: Sangiovese, Zinfandel - http://www.uleybury.com

Barossa Valley


Charles Melton -: Meunier, Muscadelle, Pedro Ximenez - http://www.charlesmeltonwines.com.au/
Chateau Dorrien -: Trebbiano - http://www.geocities.com/dorrienwines/index.html
Colonial Estate -: Muscadelle - http://www.colonialwine.com.au
Diggers Bluff -: Alicante Bouchet - http://www.diggersbluff.com
Domain Day -: Garganega, Lagrein, Sagrantino, Sangiovese, Saperavi - http://www.domaindaywines.com/
Elderton -: Zinfandel - http://www.eldertonwines.com.au
Epsilon -: Graciano, Montepulciano, Tempranillo - http://www.epsilonwines.com.au/
First Drop -: Albarino, Arneis, Barbera, Montepulciano, Nebbiolo, Tinta amarella, Touriga - http://www.firstdropwines.com
Fox Gordon -: Fiano, Tempranillo - http://www.foxgordon.com.au/
Glaymond Wines -: Tempranillo, Zinfandel - http://www.glaymondwines.com
Hare's Chase -: Tempranillo - www.hareschase.com.au
Hently Farm Wines -: Zinfandel - http://www.hentleyfarm.com.au/
Hewitson -: Muscadelle, Tempranillo - http://www.hewitson.com.au
jb Wines -: Clairette, Pinot blanc, Zinfandel - http://www.jbwines.com
Kabminye Wines -: Carignan, Cinsaut, Roussanne, Zinfandel - http://www.kabminye.com/
Kaesler -: Tempranillo - http://www.kaesler.com.au/
Kellermeister Wines -: Albarino, Carignan, Pedro Ximenez, Sylvaner, Tempranillo - http://kellermeister.com.au
Langmeil -: Ondenc - http://www.langmeilwinery.com.au
Liebichwein -: Tempranillo - http://www.liebichwein.com.au/
Loan Wines -: Alicante Bouchet - http://www.loanwines.com.au
Mad Dog Wines -: Sangiovese - http://www.maddogwines.com
Marschall Groom Cellars -: Zinfandel - http://www.groomwines.com
Massena Wines -: Cinsaut, Durif, Tannat, Tinta amarella - http://www.massena.com.au
Murdock -: Tempranillo - http://www.murdockwines.com
Murray Street Vineyard -: Cinsaut, Marsanne, Zinfandel - http://www.murraystreet.com.au
Paulmara Estate -: Sangiovese - http://www.paulmara.com.au
Peter Lehmann -: Muscadelle, Tempranillo - http://www.peterlehmanwines.com
Pindarie Wines -: Sangiovese, Tempranillo - http://www.pindarie.com.au
Quattro Mano -: Tempranillo - http://www.quattromano.com.au
Rockford -: Alicante Bouchet - http://www.rockfordwines.com.au
Ross Estate Wines -: Graciano, Tempranillo - http://www.rossestate.com.au
Rusden Wines -: Zinfandel - http://www.rusdenwines.com.au
Schulz Vignerons -: Zinfandel
Smallfry Wines -: Tempranillo - http://www.smallfrywines.com.au
Spinifex -: Carignan, Cinsaut, Grenache gris, Marsanne, Trebbiano, Vermentino - http://www.spinifexwines.com/
St Hallett -: Touriga - http://www.sthallett.com.au
Stanley Brothers -: Sylvaner - http://www.stanleybros.mtx.net
Steinborner Family Vineyards -: Durif, Marsanne - http://www.sfvineyards.com.au
Thorn-Clarke Wines -: Nebbiolo - http://www.thornclarkewines.com/
Torbreck Vintners -: Marsanne, Roussanne - http://www.torbreck.com/
Tscharke -: Albarino, Graciano, Montepulciano, Tempranillo, Zinfandel - http://www.glaymondwines.com
Turkey Flat Vineyards -: Dolcetto, Marsanne, Pedro Ximenez, Roussanne - http://www.turkeyflat.com.au
Yalumba Wine Company -: Cienna, Marsanne, Nebbiolo, Sangiovese, Tempranillo - http://www.yalumba.com

Eden Valley


Hartz Barn Wines -: Lagrein - http://www.hartzbarnwines.com.au
Heathvale -: Sagrantino - http://www.heathvalewines.com.au/
Irvine -: Albarino, Petit Meslier, Tannat, Zinfandel - http://www.irvinewines.com.au/
Torzi Matthews -: Sangiovese - http://www.torzimatthews.com.au

McLaren Vale


Aldinga Bay -: Sangiovese, Barbera, Nebbiolo, Vermentino - http://www.aldingabay.com.au
Beechtree Wines -: Arneis, Marsanne - http://www.beechtreewines.com.au/
Blackbilly -: Tempranillo - http://www.blackbilly.com
Blown Away -: Kerner - http://www.blownaway.net.au/
Bottin Wines -: Barbera, Sangiovese - http://www.vignabottin.com
Byrne and Smith -: Tempranillo - http://www.byrneandsmith.com.au
Cascabel -: Graciano, Roussanne, Tempranillo - http://www.cascabelwinery.com.au/
Chalk Hill Winery -: Barbera, Sangiovese - http://www.chalkhill.com.au/
Chapel Hill -: Albarino, Sangiovese - http://www.chapelhillwine.com.au/
Charlatan Wines -: Sangiovese - http://www.charlatan-wines.com/
Coriole -: Barbera, Fiano, Nebbiolo, Sangiovese - http://www.coriole.com/
D'Arenberg -: Chambourcin, Marsanne, Roussanne, Souzao - http://www.darenberg.com.au/
Foggo Wines -: Cinsaut - http://www.foggowines.com.au
Fox Creek Wines - http://www.foxcreekwines.com/
Gemtree Vineyards -: Albarino, Sangiovese, Tempranillo - http://www.gemtreevineyards.com.au/
Gilligan -: Marsanne, Roussanne - http://www.gilligan.com.au
Halifax -: Vermentino - http://www.halifaxwines.com.au
Hastwell and Lightfoot -: Tempranillo - http://www.hastwellandlightfoot.com.au/
Hawkers Gate -: Saperavi - http://www.hawkersgate.com.au
Hills View - http://www.hillsview.com.au
Hugh Hamilton -: Sangiovese, Saperavi, Tempranillo - http://www.hughhamiltonwines.com.au/
Inkwell -: Zinfandel - http://www.inkwellwines.com
Kangarilla Road -: Sangiovese, Tinta Negra Molle, Zinfandel - http://www.kangarillaroad.com
Koltz -: Sangiovese
Lazy Ballerina -: Shiraz Viognier - http://www.lazyballerina.com
Maglieri -: Barbera, Nebbiolo, Sangiovese - http://www.beringerblass.com.au
Maxwell Wines - http://www.maxwellwines.com.au
Minnow Creek -: Sangiovese - http://www.minnowcreekwines.com.au
Mr Riggs Wine Company -: Tempranillo - http://www.pennyshill.com.au
Nashwauk -: Tempranillo - http://www.nashwaukvineyards.com.au/
Olivers Taranga -: Fiano, Tempranillo - http://www.oliverstaranga.com/
Paxton -: Tempranillo - http://www.paxtonvineyards.com
Penny's Hill -: Marsanne, Roussanne - http://www.pennyshill.com.au
Pirramimma -: Tannat - http://www.pirramimma.com.au
Samuels Gorge -: Tempranillo - http://www.gorge.com.au
SC Pannell -: Nebbiolo, Touriga
Scarpatoni Estate -: Gamay - http://www.scarpantoni-wines.com.au/
Serafino Wines -: Nebbiolo, Tempranillo - http://www.serafinowines.com.au
Settlement Wines -: Palomino, Tinta Negra Molle - http://www.settlementwines.com/
Setttlement Wine Company -: Arneis, Pedro Ximenez, Tinta Negra - http://www.settlementwines.com.au
Tatachilla -: Sangiovese - http://www.tatachillawinery.com.au
Tintara -: Sangiovese, Tempranillo - http://www.tintara.com.au
Vincognita -: Zinfandel - http://www.vincognita.com.au
Walter Clappis Wine Co -: Tempranillo - http://www.hedonistwines.com.au/
Wirra Wirra -: Arneis - http://www.wirra.com.au
Woodstock -: Barbera - http://www.woodstockwine.com.au
Woop Woop Wines -: Marsanne, Roussanne - http://www.woopwoop.com.au
Yangarra Estate -: Roussanne - http://www.yangarra.com

|

Copyright© Vinodiversity 2009.
Return to top